Cooking? – Ah so easy! (and so we assume)

So, I used to have this notion that cooking is just hmm, kind of eaaaasy – you just mix and swish and mix and swish.. you’ve got some masalas and you some how get a curry. Honestly, I’m not a keen cook, I do not have enough patience for me to spend half a day or even more than 2 hours on cooking..well yea my mom would probably argue at that statement saying “you are sooo young, when you get the situation.. you will leaarrnn and you will be bettterrrr with time”. Well, mommy is mommy indeed.
One thing to add about taste here, no offense to the high class restaurants but I would promise on anything that home-made traditional cooking skills are much much MUCH better than the same traditional dishes you try at “authentic restaurants”, and trust me, that IS the truth. Those trial and errors, those ‘adjusted curries’ with their secret tricks and tactics? — yup, THAT is also what makes home-based cooking skills way better. 
il_570xN.521168561_qveq
But yes, back to my ‘notion’ – I used to think cooking is just Grade 8 science. You know, its just an easy experiment of the ingredients and the time and some extra ingredients.. oh that’s easy.. and mainly I use to think “one can never make it to become a bad-cook.. like, you obviously work it out.” –  You are the programmer in making that dish.. you are in full control of what you put in that dish on the cooker. So if it tastes bad-ish, there is always a way out like, ” hey, don’t worry about too much salt in your dish,pour more water, dilute it, add more chilly powder and some other masalas and you are good enough”, or if it doesn’t taste good you CAN make it right and if the curry does taste good then great! – you’ve achieved some great cooking skills.
But me? – nope. After today – after some very poor cooking experiments, “bad cooking” does exists! Forget ‘learning through experience’ and using recipe books or watching cooking channels – my cooking skills CANNOT be.. cannot be.. eh.. well it cannot be even called cooking.. well on second thought… obviously my curries are going to turn out bad if I have the mindset, I mentioned above ^, but YET, I mean it really amazes me how well some young people can cook. Now let me not critique on those kid-cooking shows, but watching those skilled kiddos cook – one think can more a less be confirmed – I don’t think I can survive on my own cooking skills (But you kiddos, need some applause for those skills) .
Now that my rant of inside the kitchen is over, I come out to rest and I think – ‘ohhh noo, I’ve got to eat that tooo’. Ahh well, good luck to my sister for trying out my failed science experiments.. well, we need dinner in anyway.
Off and out,
Arunya
Leave a Reply

